Cilantro Lime Shrimp with Coconut Rice

So last week for my meal prep I was “pinspired” to try something new. I took a combination of a couple of recipes and created my own concoction for this meal.

FullSizeRender

First I started with a Cilantro Lime Marinade:

  • 1 Bunch of Cilantro chopped
  • 1/2 cup of olive oil
  • The juice of 2 limes and some zest
  • 1.5 tsp of coriander (you can adjust this to how much you like)
  • 1.5 tsp. red pepper flakes
  • 1 tsp. of sea salt
  • 1 tsp. of ground peppercorns

I used a bag of 50 uncooked peeled and deveined shrimp and I had two salmon left from the week prior so I threw that in too. I marinated the fish and shrimp for about 30 minutes while I prepared the rice. I broiled my fish/shrimp in the oven on about 400 degrees, but this would probably taste even better grilled. Due to living in a tiny apartment while I am budgeting this year- I did not have this option.

Coconut Rice-

I prepared 12 cups of cooked white rice. You could use brown or white. Once it was cooked I threw in a whole can of full fat coconut milk and 1 cup of unsweetened coconut flakes. Next time I am going to cook the rice in the milk so it will absorb more of the coconut flavor- but doing it this way was still good and made the rice very creamy.

I used 1.5 cups of rice with two skewers of shrimp (10) plus one cup of roasted broccoli for my weekly portions. This yielded about 7 meals for me to use throughout the week. I had to freeze 3 of them since that is more than what I needed for lunch each day.

Hope you all enjoy it as much as I did!

 

Leave a Reply

