Days 1 and 2 of whole 30.

Yesterday was my first day of whole 30! My original plan was to start today, but I meal prepped and decided I would try to stick it out yesterday even though I had  a wedding reception to attend.

Yesterday started out with a headache. I had slowly been cutting out sugar for two weeks prior to starting the challenge, but this past week I was on a “staycation” with family and indulged in cake, Jack Daniels, and bread carbs (oh man… carbs!). So needless to say, day one I had a little bit of a withdrawal from sugary stuff again. I was proud of myself, however, when I attended my friend’s wedding reception and stuck with smoked pork and chicken and no alcohol or cupcakes even though I thought the whole time that I could just ran past the table and snag one of those beautiful delicious treats right up.

Here are some of the meals that I had for the past day 1/2:

Morning: 2 cups of “bulletproof coffee”, 2 hardboiled eggs, 1/4 cup of walnuts, 1 small apple:

Simple recipe for “bullet proof coffee”:  organic coffee blended with 1 tbsp. of grassfed butter, 1 tbsp. of coconut oil, 2tbsp. of coconut cream, and cinnamon. This coffee is very satiating and makes you feel full. For day 2 this is all I had for breakfast =)

This breakfast is probably around 450 calories and I ate around 845 AM and felt full until 130 PM.

Lunch: 2 Turkey/bacon/blueberry meatloaf muffins (I will share this recipe in a separate blog because it’s my new favorite thing to eat) on a bed of spinach and arugula with a side of roasted brussel sprouts.

Dinner: Smoked Turkey and chicken at the wedding reception with a small side of red skin potato salad (wasn’t sure of all the ingredients so I kept it very small).

Snack: I had a banana and a homemade fruit/nut bar on the way home since I was craving something sweet from seeing all the wine and cupcakes.

Surprisingly this doesn’t seem like a lot of food- I didn’t run or workout on day 1 due to having such a busy schedule, so maybe I wasn’t as hungry as I usually am. However, I felt full at each meal from the protein. I woke up on day 2 and didn’t really feel like eating breakfast so I had my bullet proof coffee and had my eggs, apple, walnut combo for lunch. I will probably have a small lunch and dinner and plan to run today so we will see if I am more hungry then.

So far, this doesn’t seem too bad unless I am around tempting things.

Leave a Reply

