Whole 30 Day 18-19

I am finally starting to feel some return in energy from the hellacious food challenge that I decided to put myself through. My muscles are a little achy and heavy feeling during my workouts, but I am getting through them finally. I have been listening to the audio book (something I wish I would have done prior to starting the challenge!) and I am learning so much about our food. I do feel like I am brain washing myself to hate whole grains listening to it driving down the road. If anyone rode with me they would think it is total non-sense unless they are as crazy as I am.

I want to know some of your questions that you all have about doing this challenge? Some of them that I have received so far:

  1. how much are you spending on groceries?

I have been averaging about 50-65 dollars a week on food for myself. However, I stocked up the month before I started this challenge for some staples like coconut oil, spices, and almond meal. That saved me some money over time on what I need to meal prep and these items last a while. I purposely choose foods that are healthy, but do not cost a fortune. I certainly don’t want to go broke on this challenge. The first shopping trip I spent about 125 dollars – kind of on accident. I was still learning how to shop for foods that were compliant and picked fancier meats that you really don’t have to buy. That meal prep yielded a lot of food and I still have some meals frozen in my freezer that I will probably get rid of next week in my final days of the challenge.

Also, I am saving so much money just from not going out to eat. Going out can cost between 8-12 dollars if you are getting salads or healthy items plus a drink. So if you do that a couple of times a week that would be almost half of the allowance you have for groceries.

This budget is more than what I used to spend on groceries and I probably wont’ stick with all of the strict rules after the challenge just because of the price of some of the items that you can buy. I just try to think of the money I will save on healthcare and medications later on in life from being healthy now and nurturing my body.

  1. How do you find time to meal prep?

I think I will do a whole blog post of meal prepping! I was doing it before whole 30 so the transition to preparing food ahead of time was not that difficult- just more complicated to find things that are totally compliant. I also ate rice, oat meal, and cereal a lot.

One of my favorite quotes that I have seen is this–

“Failing to Prepare is Preparing to Fail”

If you are as busy as I am, meal prep is a priority or I will eat crappy food all week just because of what is available at work and the limited time I have to cook after/before work each day.

Day 18 Food:

8:45 AM- 2 hardboiled eggs, 1/4 cup of walnuts, and a green apple +coffee with almond milk

11:35 AM- two beef and pineapple meatloaf muffins and 1 cup of steamed carrots +a banana

Pre-workout snack- homemade mango coconut bar and 1 cup of unsweetened applesauce

8:00 PM Pork with Cabbage and Potato Salad

Day 18 Workout: 10 minute EMOM- 2 squat cleans. I did half at 55 pounds and half at 65 pounds (tougher than it sounds) followed by an 11 minute AMRAP (with 1 minute rest every two minutes) of 5 pull ups, 10 push press (used 35#), 5 Burpees – I completed Six rounds. After Crossfit I ran 3.5 miles fairly easy with two long hills.

Day 19 Food:

430 AM- a banana and coffee just to get something in my stomach before training PT clients.

9:00 AM- Coconut  Lara Bar

10:30- Paleo Pancake with almond butter and blueberries

3:30 PM- Green apple slices with a grass fed beef hotdog

7:00 PM- I met my mom at Chipotle for dinner and got a salad bowl with carnitas, salsa, and guacamole. I was still a little hungry so I had some watermelon when I got home.

Day 19 Workouts: 2 miles on the stair climber and 10 minutes of a Push/Pull routine (50# “sled” push and 50# rope pull with kettle bell on the end-20 Feet each) + core training afterwards. I also walked about 1.5 miles with clients in the morning.

*At my gym we do not have functional training equipment so I made a makeshift sled with the bench and two 25# plates. One of the rooms is carpeted and the bench slides around just like a sled would.

Leave a Reply

